Who am I?

Posted: October 3, 2011 by J in Church

Here is a passage of beauty for you about the Christian community. This stirs my heart. Special honours for whoever can tell us – who wrote this?

The community is confronted and created by the Word of God. It is the communion of the saints because it is the gathering of the faithful [believing]. As such it is the confederation of witnesses, who may and must speak because they believe.

The community does not speak with words alone. It speaks by the very fact of its existence in the world; by its characteristic attitude to world problems; and moreover and especially, by its silent service to all the handicapped, weak and needy in the world. It speaks, finally, by the simple fact that it prays for the world.

The community does all this because this is the purpose of its summons [into existence] by the Word of God. It cannot avoid doing these things, since it believes.

Comments
  1. Mike W says:

    Well, the word bit make me think Torrance, the handicapped bit makes me think Henri Nouwen or Jean Vanier, but it all sounds rather similar to the first book of College bookclub, by a writer I thought you were sick of Jonathan? ; )
    I’ll leave it for others to guess.
    Great stuff though, and I like how he noties the existence (and way of existence) of the community as a kind of proclamation in itself….. very much what I’ve been thinking about.
    Mike

  2. Dan W says:

    Was it my dad who wrote it?

    I like it a lot.

    I’m amazed at how we seek to suppress that witness some times.

    And yet, I’m delighted to be a part of the community ‘confronted and created by the word.’
    A beautiful thing.

    Dan W

  3. Des Smith says:

    Uncle Karl?

  4. Stephen Gilmour says:

    Karl Barth, Evangelical Theology, p38.

    • Jonathan says:

      OK so the game’s up. Honours go Des for the name and Steve for locating the quote. I’m just reading it (barth) and it’s pretty nice. Lots to warm your heart and stretch your mind! Thanks for playing.

  5. Jonathan says:

    Des and Steve, your reward is, you each get to post an article on a topic of your choice! For free! Or else a fave quote you’d like to share with the world.

    Send it through to me, I’ll sort it.

Leave a Reply

