The best course at Moore College

Posted: January 3, 2012 by J in General


After being let loose on the world for one full year, I feel quite sure about which of the courses I did at college was the most helpful.

It was the one called Advanced Pastoral Ministry IV. Grandiose name, I know, but it was basically a chaplaincy course.

It was run by some outside pastoral educators, who really knew their stuff.

It taught me one thing: I don’t know how to listen to people and respond to what they’re really saying.

And it showed me a handful of skills and attitudes I need to develop if I’m going to get any good at that.

And it helped me to make a small start at learning those skills and attitudes.

I’ve been practising those all year. I’ve tried to pass on what I learnt to the team, and encourage them to practise too.

I’ve got a long way to go before I’m good at this stuff. But already I feel that many many of my conversations with people here in Canterbury have been more fruitful and positive than they would have been. I’ve found it easier to show love and win people’s trust. I’ve felt more relaxed and confident with people than I probably would have. I’ve said less stupid and unhelpful things in reply when people tell me things. I’ve even found people easier to understand (slightly!). As a result of that one course.

That’s a lot of mileage out of a one-semester course. GOLD!

Leave a Reply

