Jesus becomes sin, all die, and other strange sayings – 2 Cor. 5

Posted: February 13, 2012 by J in Bible

I’ve been asked a couple of times lately at The Grit about 2 Corinthians 5. It came up when we discussed the cross as the condemning of the world. More recently a shy commenter emailed me about some posts on justification from last year. She wrote:

Do you really stand by your statement: “The apostles do not teach that we share hisrighteousness: they teach that we share his justification?” I realise that in Greek “justification” and “righteousness” are a verb and noun of the same root word. However, 2 Cor 5:21 sounds to me like us sharing in Jesus’ righteousness! Not being a Greek geek, I may not be on the right track with this, but I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I do stand by my statement, and I promised shy commenter that I’d post something on this remarkable chapter (surely one of the glories of the NT, and indeed of ancient literature anywhere). It’s a chapter I’m very happy to spend a lot of time in, it’s so rich and inspiring.

I think I’ll do two posts, the first one giving a paraphrase of the chapter, the second discussing that verse, once we’ve got some clear context.

I might just mention that I think the translations do a worse than usual job of grasping Paul’s line of thinking, in this chapter. They add in some quite unhelpful stuff. I’m proposing to take it back out!

Leave a Reply

