Can I still do Buddhism?

Posted: February 26, 2012 by J in Discipleship, Mission

“If I follow Jesus, what about my Buddhism? The Dalai Lama says I can have both. He tells me not to let go of my Christian background now that I’ve got into Buddhism. What do you think?”

That’s the question for today, folks.

What should I tell this man? He says his Buddhism is largely about relaxation techniques, and about teachings of peace and compassion towards all people. Does he need to give up that connection to be a Christian?

I think he understands Christ’s claim to uniqueness. But how absolute is that claim? How compatible is it with these Buddhist practices and teachings?

Some wisdom from the excellent Grit readership please!

Comments
  1. Anil G says:

    My cousin recently quoted the Dalai Lama as follows. As a prominent world religious leader I think his ignorance of other religions and Christianity itself is surprising. Perhaps this obvious indication of the Dalai Lama’s weakness might loosen the faith of your friend in Buddhism itself.

    All major religious traditions carry basically the same message, that is love, compassion and forgiveness the important thing is they should be part of our daily lives.
    Dalai Lama

    And perhaps the Dalai Lama should consider taking the Alpha course.

  2. I think perhaps relate it to your own situation.
    Can you continue to be a westerner, an Australian?
    On one level, yes. But commitment to Christ is always going to be taking you to new places and away from old ones. Your friend may keep doing relaxation, and love compasssion, but over time Jesus will teach him to love new things and abhor old ones. There will always be some things to affirm and some things to reject.

    on the other hand, I’m very suspicious of those who think they have plumbed the depths of christian spirituality and feel the need to move elsewhere. I can understand it though, what with our christian tradition being so rationalist

Leave a Reply

