What I liked about Moore College

Posted: October 3, 2012 by J in General

This man deserves the picture spot. Andrew Cameron.

I often have reason to think back on my four years at College. Sometimes I do so with fondness and appreciation for the good things I enjoyed there. Here’s my top ten (not in order):
1. Peter Bolt’s approach to interpreting Mark’s Gospel: narrative coherence and biblical theology opened up that book in new ways.

2. Con Campbell’s improved take on Greek grammar, i.e. verbal aspect. We read the NT differently now.

3. The Advanced Pastoral Ministry course – most useful thing I ever did

4. David Peterson’s supervision for my 4th year project (=thesis). That man was on top of his game! And also very kind and helpful.

5. David Hohne making us read Colin Gunton and generally talking as though God is Trinity. That was news!

6. Preaching group with Richard ‘Gibbo’ Gibson – gold! He taught us so much.

7. Andrew Cameron – just the man himself really. But also showing us how there can be more to ethics than proof texting and ‘divine command’ thinking.

8. The library – that place is King Solomon’s Mines.

9. Four or five mates who would talk theology and bible with me outside class. Learnt most there.

10. My prayer buddies (overlapping with 9.) – we still meet up to pray. These beautiful guys help keep me on the straight and narrow

How about you? Can you give us your top 5 or 10 in the comments? You could even tell us about your college if you went elsewhere (I’ve heard there are other schools out there these days…)

Comments
  1. I’ll put in a vote for Issues In Theology – a great opportunity to reflect deeply about your hobbyhorses and to persuade other people to care about them too.

    Also, the theology courses from 4th year (Shapers of Contemporary Protestant Thought and Patristic Trinitarian Theology). Gold all the way!

    Last (but certainly not least), those crumbed, slightly spicy chicken strip thingies that we would get for lunch occasionally. Actually, let’s all just give a big Praise Jesus for the kitchen staff!

    • Jonathan says:

      I missed out on those 4th year courses :(.

      BUt “those crumbed, slightly spicy chicken strip thingies that we would get for lunch occasionally.”
      – I’m right there with you, Luke.

  2. danieljwebster says:

    Well I hadn’t thought through stuff as much as many of you before going to college, so the opportunity to think was a highlight for me. Food for thought was given from mates, random stuff I read (especially book club), set readings, and from lecture material. The gospel of God got bigger for me at college. If that was all I got out of it (which it certainly was not), then it would have been well worth the four years and thousands of dollars (which I’ll probably never pay…).

    Also, singing at chapel was excellent.

    Also, the stuff you guys have said which applied to me, I’d agree with.

    Also, the general approachability and humility of the lecturers, and the way that most of the support staff really did want to support us. What kind of place is this, where admin people are actually interested in students and want to help them?!

    Also I liked the way that students could just start stuff. There’s the unofficial stuff like prayer groups, book clubs and ‘doctrine gang’, but then they also supported stuff like Ando’s initiatives in serving Newtown, and ‘free money for young lives’ and all that kind of stuff. That’s pretty cool, especially when it involves them parting with cash.

    Also I liked the fact that the leaders of the place were so well intentioned. I know we could argue about how well they carried out their mission, but they really loved Jesus and wanted the world to know him. What a blessing to be taught by people with those intentions!

    I could go on. For all its foibles, I thought college was good and I thank God for it and my time there.

    Thanks for being so positive Jono. I really mean that.

    • Jonathan says:

      Well I hadn’t thought through stuff as much as many of you before going to college,

      Huh! I hadn’t thought anything much before that, and I’d read next to nothing.

      the support staff really did want to support us.

      Wasn’t that amazing. I encountered it again and again. They were the best.

  3. Chris S says:

    So many things, much of what you said Jonno and others, and not sure if I can boil it to a top 5 or ten, as it was sort of an organic whole. But a few snippets:

    1. pretty much all the lecturers, especially those I got to know over time more. Peter Bolt was the epitome of these for me because he was:
    a) absolutely willing and available to meet up in my doubt periods and talk it all through with me sympathetically, openly, and without pretending he had answers to everything, yet without letting me get away with thinking there were no answers to anything.
    b) my thesis supervior and taught me so much of how to be historically rigorous and appreciate the Greco-Roman cultural cues of Luke (and other places) as well as the OT ones that had already been emphasised so much (rightly).

    2. the depth of the thinking and research of so many of the lecturers – including the semi-retired senior guys like Paul Barnett and Peter O’Brien, who were all gold and for those I got to know a bit more (Like Paul B) wonderfully pastorally wise. Barry Webb, though he wasn’t semi retired at that stage, was so much like that too. Humility – my goodness, and he made Isaiah come alive for me.

    3. my fellow students. I tested many of them with my doubt, and they loved me. And put up with it. And didn’t pretend it away.

    4. the musicians – playing with guys in different ways was awesome – from Hans et al in chapel and a bit of other rock stuff, to Con at the book store cafe, to Ben Pakula with his kids stuff and shared drum stuff, to Michael Morrow and a little bit of arranging.

    5. the general community life, which hit a peak for us in 4th year living in Campbell St, but had been so rich earlier with people from Tassie etc, and the way they became dear to Sarah and our kids. It was awesome that Sarah made great friends too, and went through a real tough time with people caring for us.

    6. the wonderful divrsity of students – they weren’t all Sydney-siders, and not all the Sydney siders were the same anyway. But all around Jesus.

    7. Andrew Cameron (and others at times too) giving us gentle but strong pushes regards going to chapel (and moments in chapel like Peter Bolt and Greg Anderson sharing prayers for outreach to the Islamic world, with vital honesty).

    8. the extraordinary compassion and generosity and interest for us as Kiwis and for the gospel in NZ, spearheaded by guys like Gibbo (but present across an astonishingly large percentage of the faculty), and extending to so many of the student body too. We felt and feel incredibly humbled by it, and unworthy of it.

    9. two key groups for me: the preaching group I was a part of with Al, Suds, Pete B and Febes, and our study group wwhich was again humbling and at times terrifying.

    10. related to many of the above, rigorous discussions with certain people about various esp NT and ethics things have been pretty cool too 🙂

    And heaps of other stuff. I am moved thinking about it.

  4. Chris S says:

    man that ended up long – sorry!

Leave a Reply

